Windows 8 and Rogue Spear

 ANGRYKOREAMAN


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 25 August 2011
Posts:1
Posted 26 December 2013 - 11:28 pm
Hey, I'm an old zone player (UTD_Anthony903) trying to load up some RS for some old school fun but it doesn't seem to work with Windows 8. Is this a known fact? Is there any kind of workaround to this?

Thanks.
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 +kitt


Group: Systems Operations
Join Date: 13 January 2008
Posts:14761
Posted 28 December 2013 - 1:51 pm
try installing your game/voobly as per this link [assuming it isnt]
http://www.voobly.com/forum/thread/163759
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 [RSL]fusion


Group: Platinum Membership
Join Date: 24 July 2010
Posts:69
Posted 1 January 2014 - 8:22 pm
The only way to make it work in windows 8 is to run it in windowed mode. Have to change graphics colors to 16 and in registry set full screen to false.

الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 J1tterBug


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 14 February 2014
Posts:6
Posted 24 February 2014 - 4:25 am
how do I get to the registry to change full screen?

الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 shavvN


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 21 January 2014
Posts:49
Posted 25 February 2014 - 9:22 pm
after you install game.

click start / run, type "regedit' then hit enter.

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Red Storm Entertainment\Rogue Spear

then look for full screen, right click it with mouse and click modify from TRUE to False. :-)
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 mrdarkey


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 4 March 2014
Posts:1
Posted 4 March 2014 - 12:25 am
ok now we need to find out how to get the window mode bigger, coz now its 640x480
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 J1tterBug


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 14 February 2014
Posts:6
Posted 4 March 2014 - 4:24 am
Hey Shavvn thanks for all the info from all the different posts. what were your cs? maybe I'd remember one.

You think I could get rs goin on w8.1? I'll try some more later on in the week with the actual cd, and new tips,

I am getting ready to install slackware Linux and could run rs with WINE, but that's a few weeks down the road. id like to play sooner but w/e

الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 shavvN


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 21 January 2014
Posts:49
Edited 5 March 2014 - 10:28 pm by shavvN
mrdarkey
there is 2 way you can change your rogue spear's resolution.

1. Launch your rogue spear then go to the option and click "GRAPHICS" and look at video resolution, bring it out to what you like..

2. Regedit - start / run type regedit then HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Red Storm Entertainment\Rogue Spear look down on right and find VideoResolution, right click on it with mouse and click modify then type 1024x768 or whatever you want. :) if you still are having issue with this, Please let me know.

الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 shavvN


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 21 January 2014
Posts:49
Posted 5 March 2014 - 10:29 pm
J1tterBug wrote:
Hey Shavvn thanks for all the info from all the different posts. what were your cs? maybe I'd remember one.

You think I could get rs goin on w8.1? I'll try some more later on in the week with the actual cd, and new tips,

I am getting ready to install slackware Linux and could run rs with WINE, but that's a few weeks down the road. id like to play sooner but w/e

To be honest, i haven't tried window 8 but one of person told me that it works, but you can try it as i can help you to see if it work.
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 J1tterBug


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 14 February 2014
Posts:6
Posted 7 March 2014 - 5:18 am
changed full screen and still no. I get roguespear.exe error 0xc0000142
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 shavvN


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 21 January 2014
Posts:49
Posted 9 March 2014 - 8:40 pm
I am not sure what to do with W8 at the point, i apologize, but i know W7 works really well for it. :(
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 fear91fin


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 23 March 2015
Posts:1
Posted 23 March 2015 - 10:49 am
Okay, one year later comes answer:

I did all the above suggestest changes, resolution etc.
AND heres what you have to too:

roguespear.exe (double click - properties - compatibility tab ) Select the first checkbox from "settings" (color thing) and put 16bit option in it. Just got it working by doing that.
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 Jimbola


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 22 May 2015
Posts:1
Posted 22 May 2015 - 4:36 am
When I go to the registry editor there is no option for Full Screen in the Rogue Spear file. Is this a problem with the initial install?
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 bbenjoe


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 23 August 2015
Posts:2
Posted 23 August 2015 - 12:33 pm
You need to download game with Voobly client (check the 2nd comment).
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 RecklessS13


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 7 September 2015
Posts:1
Posted 28 September 2015 - 7:28 am
I am having issues, I tried all of the above with Windows 8, for the last comments, I assume you did compatibility windows 8, and not windows xp, correct?


الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
[1]2
Displaying 1 - 15 out of 16 posts
الأنتقال في المنتدي الي:
1 User(s) are reading this topic (in the past 30 minutes)
0 members, 1 guests

Dân số hiện tại:
Chủ đề tích cực nhất tuần qua: