A Rogue Spear Help-book

 BigDaddyDoom


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 15 July 2010
Posts:25
Edited 21 August 2014 - 4:06 pm by +kitt
This Help-Book was written by Lethargic in Rogue Sear awhile ago so i thought i would update it for any new players that might be experiencing any issues.
Rogue Spear Help Book

The game isn't that hard to fix, I'll just make a list of things some users may ask so that in the future if they ask anyone you can refer to this post as help. I'll also make a post in the Rogue Spear forum of the same thing that way you can just link them if you need.

I have included screen shots under most sections as visual aids if needed. Just click the "View" and it will show a screen shot of what you're looking for.


Contents:

Win 7 with an ATI graphics card


Patches and add-ons

  • Q: Are there patches, add-ons, etcetera?
  • A: There is a [You must login to view link] required in order to play online along with map packs. You can find everything you need on Rogue Spear Ladder website: [You must login to view link]. You only need the ROGUE205.exe and the [You must login to view link]. If you are on Vista then you will more than likely need the [You must login to view link]file also. The full game is also hosted for downloading on the website if they need a link for that too, it can be also be found here: [You must login to view link]. Rogue Spear Stats (a program that keeps up with your stats each game) can be found at [You must login to view link] which will have instructions on how to install and use it.
    There is a new program called Rogue Tools. This is an awesome little program that cleans your rougespear folder. This program is best used after every game for the cleaning. Just remember to back up any screen shots you might want to keep as the program will automatically delete them.
    Once you are in game, tab out and open the program and click on the affinity/priority button,then exit and tab back into your game for an excellent boost in gameplay. The priority will go back to normal once you exit rs.exe so make sure you tab and use RT every time you launch.
    [You must login to view link]
    View

Game modifications

  • Q: What kind of modifications can be made to the game?
  • A: You are able to delete the A and L sounds in the sounds folder of your game which can be located in data/sound portion of your Rogue Spear folder in your C: drive. You can edit the size of your reticule in the reticule.txt file in the data/kit portion of your Rogue Spear folder in your C: drive, you can also download reticule files such as bluelime, but be careful as some edit the textures which is not allowed. It's suggested you edit the reticule file yourself, if you don't know how let someone that does know how do it. You can edit the gamma of the game in your registry located in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE>SOFTWARE>Red Storm Entertainment>Rogue Spear ActionGammaValue - you can set it as high as 25.000000. I highly suggest you also go to your Rogue Spear folder in C: and open the RSConfig.exe and select your video card in Renderer and your sound card in Sound and uncheck all of the boxes below.

    View of reticules.txt file

    View of the gamma value in the registry
    [You must login to view link]

Game lag reduction

  • Q: Is there anything you can do to make the game lag less?
  • A: It's believed by having LAN and Behind Firewall checked in the game's options it will create less lag and warp. Use Rogue Tools after all games.

    View

Black screen / Blocky frag smoke

  • Q: My game loads and my screen stays black for a few seconds, how do I fix this?
  • A: Some video cards are too powerful for Rogue Spear and you have to run the game at low graphics levels. Set your graphics to medium, or lower and it should help.

    [You must login to view link]

  • Q: My frag smoke is blocky, how do I fix it?
  • A: Turn off force software.

    View

    Installing 2.05 patch

    • Q: When installing the 2.05 patch it freezes at 100 percent and never finishes, how do I install it all the way?
    • A: It's not frozen, there's a command prompt window popped up, exit it and it will finish.

      [You must login to view link]

    Windows Vista

    • Q: I'm on Vista and my game doesn't work, how do I fix this?
    • A: Download the Vista fix from www.vg-ladder.com.

    Anti-cheat patch

    • Q: Where do I get the anti-cheat patch?
    • A: The anti-cheat is integrated with the Voobly client, so you must be on Voobly in order to use the patch. Just host a room and go to your settings and enable anti-cheat protection.
      View


      These are the most major problems, and there are more but this should do for now. If there are any other suggestions to be added here you can post, or if anyone has another problem you can post it here and we will try our best to resolve it. Sorry for having them scattered around, I just thought of them as I typed and put them where ever I thought of them.
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 CantKs


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 16 July 2012
Posts:1
Posted 16 July 2012 - 8:14 am
I cant connect to game server when my buddie makes a game...
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 SC0U53R


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 28 July 2012
Posts:1
Posted 28 July 2012 - 6:20 pm
Well, ive never played rogue spear (currently downloading now) but i LOVED the original rainbox six, so this should be awesome!
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 PT_cmdr


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 23 October 2010
Posts:11
Edited 15 December 2012 - 12:21 am by PT_cmdr
Extra stuff:


Game Settings

1. Run rogue spear at a 4:3 ratio resolution. It’s how the game was designed. If you run it at a 16:10 or 16:9 resolution the stretches out the screen so that it’s easier to completely miss players when you think you’re hitting them. If you run it on a wide screen HD monitor, change your scaling to "no scaling" so nothing gets stretched out.

2. Match your monitor resolution to your rogue spear resolution so you load faster, and run your game on low graphics

7. Turn on gamespy / youtube video/ or anything else that uses java to keep your ret completely from blowing up if you have windows 7.

8. If people are tanking your shots or nothing is landing, leave the room and switch from “behind firewall/LAN” to “internet” in your rogue spear connection settings. Also try changing the compatibility in your rogue spear .exe to windows 98, windows 2000, or XP. It’s different for every host, and you’ve got to mix it up until you get the right setting. From my experience “Behind Firewall/LAN” gives you less warp but more tanking, “Internet” gives you more warp but every shot lands when you fire

9. Try TCP optimizer (google it) and put the slider bar for the connection setting down to 5 mb, and put your windows autotuning as “disabled”. You’ll see a lot less warp/tanking when you play.

10. Set affinity after you've loaded up roguespear.exe under Windows Task Manager -> Processes -> [check additional CPU cores] if you're having mouse sensitivity trouble on windows 7
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 +Gs_VeNoM


Group: الدعم الفني
Join Date: 7 February 2011
Posts:61
Posted 21 January 2013 - 10:33 pm
CantKs wrote:
I cant connect to game server when my buddie makes a game...

He needs to forward his ports. Feel free to come in the lobby and someone (if not myself) can help you get setup quick.
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 sh4R


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 18 April 2013
Posts:7
Posted 30 April 2013 - 11:32 pm
ATI gfx with any os works now, there is a ATI fix now.
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 xjtsx


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 6 May 2013
Posts:1
Posted 10 May 2013 - 10:07 pm
I have been trying to get my windows 8 computer to play the game, i have not had any luck. Any advice (other than install windows 7)?

-xJtSx
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 roguestats


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 11 August 2010
Posts:3
Posted 17 May 2013 - 11:21 am
InstallationPath path reported by registry is ''
Verifying '\RogueSpear.exe' exists...
Failure!

The file was not found at the location the registry said it should be. The registry keys need to either be fixed or the game needs to be moved to the proper location.
how do i fix this..aphex did it for me one time but i reformatted now im stuck agian, anyone>?
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 Missy


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 5 July 2007
Posts:182
Posted 19 May 2013 - 9:04 pm
hi. to fix your path: make sure you are completly off the voobly client. Go to your registry and delete the RS file and close, go into a single player game and quit at the main menu. then come back to voobly and you should be fixed :) ggs
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 [GGT]slate


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 3 July 2007
Posts:2
Posted 28 May 2013 - 10:03 am
Does anyone know if I can get Rogue Spear working with Windows 8? I've tried a few things already, but no luck.

I have a Nvidia Card.
    Numerous Compatibility Settings (7/Vista/XP/2k/98)
    Win7/Vista Fix (eax.dll)
    choose Software Renderer

the Registry looks fine and I've tried both, the CD-Install and Aphex installer

But no matter what RogueSpear.exe just crashes upon launch (RogueSpear.exe has stopped working)

any help would be greatly appreciated.
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 sh4R


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 18 April 2013
Posts:7
Posted 1 June 2013 - 1:29 am
none of rogue spear have worked on window 8 so whoever has window 8 is out of luck, either dual boot window 7 or format whole thing to w7. :(
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 anthony240sx


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 19 June 2013
Posts:1
Posted 19 June 2013 - 1:37 pm
same I think. my patch is installed and I can join his lobby but for some reason when he starts the game he gets in the game lobby but I get stuck on the main menu screen only with the background with snow. I don't know how to fix this.
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 darkmath24


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 5 September 2013
Posts:1
Posted 5 September 2013 - 4:52 am
I've got the game running under Windows 7, and using a GTX 740 video card. The game plays almost like back then, except an intermittent blinking on the menu that is very annoying, and some weird colors issues ( purple mask, or ledge) that sometime happen at specific point during the game. Any idea ? Might installing UO and other expansion fix the problem for good ?

Still, it's better than nothing, I thought i was impossible to run at all a few years back on W7. Words of advice to anyone on W8: Consider using Virtual box instead of running a dual boot: much less hassle to deal with. I've tried with XP ( back in the day it was not working at all, now it start but got some resolution issue and cannot interact with mouse). I think its also possible to run in under Linux VM like Mint or Ubuntu, from Wine or Play on Linux.
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 Hangsta


Group: Standard Membership
Join Date: 10 September 2013
Posts:1
Posted 6 December 2013 - 1:54 am
Hey guys, I have an error I can not get around. I'm on win 7 64bit. I can play single player with out any problems. The error only happens when I am trying to play online on voobly. The game starts up and crashes giving me a error of:
You must login into Voobly to view image


can anyone help?
الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
 +Vigilant


Group: Game Moderator
Join Date: 18 April 2011
Posts:351
Posted 8 December 2013 - 3:53 am
run the rsconfig.exe (i believe thats what its called) and you can set your video card and sound device


الرابط | الرد | أقتباس
[1]2
Displaying 1 - 15 out of 24 posts
الأنتقال في المنتدي الي:
1 User(s) are reading this topic (in the past 30 minutes)
0 members, 1 guests

Most active threads in past week: